NPORS Courses

/NPORS Courses

NPORS Courses & Assessments

Established in 1992, the National Plant Operators Registration Scheme is now one of the UK’s leading Accreditation and Registration Bodies, working across the Construction, Industrial, Utilities, Warehousing and Distribution, Agricultural, Ports and Marine sectors.

In 2016 NPORS changed the way they run their scheme.  To bring them more in line with what is offered by CPCS they now have 2 options available with their cards.

NPORS now offers a CSCS card.  Much like the CPCS operator cards this type of card will require you to complete practical and theory tests after which you will be awarded a two year ‘red’ operator card.  During the two years you must then register and complete an appropriate S/NVQ to be awarded a ‘blue’ Competent Operator Card which will then be valid for 5 years.

Before undertaking any CSCS NPORS practical or theory test you will need to have passed a Health & Safety touch screen test within the two years prior.

This is a record of training/assessment an individual has undertaken to prove their ability to safely operate or drive an item of plant machinery or equipment. Registration lasts for three or five years from the date of first initial test.

What’s the difference between NPORS and CPCS?

  • Unlike CPCS, you have the option of undertaking the practical and theory tests either at an accredited test centre or at another location of your choosing (assuming it meets the necessary criteria).
  • NPORS give you the opportunity to add:
    • Include attachments – E.g. Telescopic Handler – with Bucket attachment.
    • Restrict the card for Operational reasons – E.g. 180 Excavator – restricted to front bucket use only.
    • Restrict the card for Commercial reasons – E.g. Restricted for use on A Company Ltd sites only.